The Blockheads

Formed in 1977 to promote Ian Durys' album 'New Boots and Panties' on the first Stiff Records tour of the U.K. Chaz Jankel, Norman Watt-Roy, Charlie Charles, John Turnbull and Mick Gallagher quickly became known as The Blockheads. Over the next five years Ian Dury and the Blockheads went on to produce some of the finest pop music this country has ever seen. 'Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick', 'Reasons to be Cheerful', 'Sex and Drugs and Rock and Roll', the band’s back catalogue is era defining to say the very least and it’s even more remarkable when you think that the majority of it was created in this short period. After an eight year hiatus the band reunited with Dury and off and on over the next decade toured and recorded together to universal acclaim. Following the tragic death of Ian Dury in March 2000 The Blockheads have continued to keep the band’s legacy alive, touring constantly to keep the music and the magic alive.